Eivind Aarset | Quartet // Phantasmagoria:JAZZ OF FOUR CONTINENTS

Eivind Aarset | Quartet // Phantasmagoria

Monday 24/04/2023 from 21:00

Eivind Aarset is a guitarist with a unique musical vision that absorbs and reflects all manner of music while retaining an enviable individualism and high-quality craftsmanship that can span from quiet intimacy to searing intensity. He is a musician who has succeeded in the difficult task of creating an immediately identifiable sound and marrying it to a will to investigate as many musical possibilities as he can find or imagine. His debut as a bandleader on Jazzland Recordings was described by the New York Times as "One of the best post-Miles electric jazz albums," setting a high benchmark that Aarset has consistently met and exceeded, both in the studio and in live performance. As one of Norway's most in-demand guitarists, Eivind Aarset has worked with Jon Hassell, David Sylvian, Laurie Anderson, Bill Laswell, Sly & Robbie, Tigran Hamasyan, Jan Bang, Jan Garbarek, Marilyn Mazur, Andy Sheppard, Hamid Drake, Husnu Selnederici and Arve Henriksen—to name a few. He has worked with Nils Petter Molvaer's band, (appearing on all of Molvaer's albums up to 2010, including the breakthrough album "Khmer" and 2006's award-winning "ER"). And not least, he has a long-lasting collaboration with Dhafer Youssef, both live and in the studio.  "What drew me to this music was the hypnotic grooves and musical freedom I found," says Eivind. "There's was no established rules or tradition in what I was doing. Rhythm was the center of the music, the landscape the soloist travels through. It felt like fresh territory.”

The three long time collaborators who will join Aarset on this tour, are all important musicians on the Norwegian scene: Erland Dahlen: drums and more, has played on over 130 records since the mid-1990s, and has toured with an impressive list of top-ranking artists in a variety of genres: Kiruna, Mike Patton/ Kaada, Mathias Eick, Serena Maneesh, Arve Henriksen, Hanne Hukkelberg, Nils Petter Molvaer and Madrugada He has released two albums under his own name: Rolling Bomber and Blossom Bells. Wetle Holte: drums and more, was one of the founding members of the Norwegian nu-jazz group Wibutee, and composed and recorded four albums with this group. Holte has also a career as record producer, and has released one album, Hurricane, under his own name. He has performed with Bugge Wesseltoft, Anja Garbarek, and has been a collaborator with Aarset since 1998. Audun Erlien: bass, also has a long history with Aarset, having frequently played together since the 80 ́s. Erlien is well known for his work with Nils Petter Molvaer, Bernhoft, Bendik Hofseth, Anja Garbarek, Masha Vahdat and Matthias Eick—to name a few. And he has his own project «Spirit in the Dark» who just released their debut album on Jazzland Rec.

Eivind Aarset – g; Audun Erlien – b; Wetle Holte – dr, perc; Erland Dahlen –  dr, perc.

Admission – presale: seating CZK 800, standing CZK 400, at the door: seating CZK 900, standing CZK 450. No club discounts. Seats reservation is possible only if you buy a ticket. Thank you for understanding.

Band website: eivindaarset.com

ambient & electronique jazz-rock
On-line ticket